Katelynn’s Birth Story-A Second Birth vs. First Birth

Katelynn is not only our Rainbow Baby but also our almost Christmas baby..she was born just a few days after Christmas and I’m glad it ended up that way. Even though I know she will always probably feel her birthday is always a little in the shadow of Christmas, at least it is afterward and not the day of (although I’m sure that can be fun for others and we would have made it work.)

EARLY LABOR
Katelynn’s birth story is so different than Ethan’s birth story (also told by his dad here for many reasons. First of all, it was characteristically faster and easier in a lot of ways as a second birth. In the weeks leading up to Katelynn’s birth I had some contractions but was still at 1cm at my previous appointment. Two nights before her birth I hardly slept with no particular reason, then the night before I had a great night of sleep! The morning before she was born was a Sunday and I had some light bleeding so I thought she might arrive in a day or so. Then I had some mild contractions but I wasn’t sure if I was really starting labor or it was more random contractions. I went ahead to church and the mild contractions continued but I went on with making my grocery list then ALMOST went to the grocerty store then after talking to my husband, I decided not to go. Just after that I had some more bleeding so I called the medical exchange to see if they thought that wa okay. They said

pic by her HP fan daddy. picture property of betterthanexpected321.wordpress.com

pic by her HP fan daddy. picture property of betterthanexpected321.wordpress.com

probably so, but since you’ve had it twice today, go ahead and come in to get checked. We called my parents to drop Ethan off at their house on the way up to Labor and Delivery and we were hardly two blocks before my contractions started hurting more and taking my breath away. Ryan started driving faster and I remember grabbing the “sissy bar” as my dad called it when I was a kid (and what others know it as the “oh #!%!” bar” as he whipped the truck into my parents driveway. HE turned on his emergency flashers on the interstate and he said “yea, you’re in labor” and I had to agree with that!

AT THE HOSPITAL

They monitored me at Labor and Delivery and said I was at a 3 and if I progressed to a 4 they’d keep me but otherwise they would reassess the situation. The doctor never did come in to give her opinion and I started hurting really intensely while watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows on the tv in the room. I thought they would never check on me again and I wonder if the nurse heard me from the hall say “When is someone going to check on me?! I could be at a 5 for all they know!” because she came in 30 seconds later to check me and said I was at a 4. So the plan was for me to be admitted and finally I was and opted to walk to the room. I told the nurse once admitted that yes, I do want an epidural and thought awesome, I’m going to get it sooner than I did last time (because I didn’t realize I was in labor and thought the pain was some problem so I didn’t show up to outpatient until i was at a 6! And it took a LOT of laboring and sleeplessness to get there with my first baby.)

So here we were again watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows , just in a different room, and it became kind of weird to watch as the pain intensified. The soundtrack from the movie seemed even more epic and motivating. Ryan looked at a loss and said “I wish I could do something to help. What do you want me to do?” and really there was nothing. I don’t even get the whole hold your partner’s hand or squeeze them to death because for a while there I was content with his moral support and clutching the bedrails sort of like I was steering the hospital bed. In between contractions, it even made me laugh a little. I was NOT laughing when I was in labor with Ethan because it lasted so long, mostly at home (the early part with no epidural) and I was so frustrated because I thought the pain would not go away for weeks as I didn’t know what it was!) This time I knew exactly what was going on and just dealth with contractions as they came and worsened…and worsened. The anesthesiologist was still not around and I was concerned that I might be rapidly progressing as these things often do with subsequent babies. The nurse apologized and said there were some emergency c sections and finally she checked me and suer enough I had been moving along but I could still get an epidural.

GIMME THE DRUGS!
I started hurting more, and I started rocking from side to side as “driving the hospital bed” was not enough anymore to keep me grounded and under control. As I rocked and moaned (in a controlled, patterned action) I realized this was the same thing I remember doing when in labor with Ethan at home, rocking on our guest bed. (I wandered from beds to couches ro recliners throughout the 2 nights-mainly 1-where I was in earlier labor with Ethan.) AS time went on and I still didn’t have an epidural underway or yet in sight, I was hurting a lot and not much was keeping me feeling in control of the pain-it wasn’t out of control yet, but I was getting pretty worn out so the nurse offered something to make them more bearable as I waited. She said “it will make you feel like you’ve had a few too many margaritas.” I wasn’t sure how that felt becaue I’d only had sips of this and that, then drank a MIke’s Hard LEmonade and kept asking my friend “Am I drinking it too fast?” Yep, I’m that girl. 😉 My husband videoed me because I was being ridiculous immediately (Strong stuff!) and was laughing uncontrollably about absolutely nothing between some contractions. I remember the contractions still hurt, but I was distracted and I’m sure kind of numb. On the part of the movie where Voldemort threatens to kill everyone if they hide Harry Potter to protect him, I was giggling as a contraction ended and said “Well THAT’S what you want to hear when you’re in labor!” After Ryan videoed me I asked “Well wait…am I gonna be acting all stupid when Katelynn is born?” and Ryan teased me and said “well, yeah” and then quickly said “I’m just kidding” when he saw my crestfallen face. Then I said “oh good, I was about to cry if that was true!” then actually started crying! I was a mess. The nurse’s eyes got big when she came in and saw my immediate goofiness and it cracked me up. By the time that was wearing off the epidural was finally ready to be placed. ** Just like the first labor, the epidural made me more nervous than anything but all went well. The nurse said to let her know when I started feeling more intense pressure and I wasn’t sure how much I was “supposed” to feel. I don’t remember feeling much at all with Ethan’s birth but it was probably about the same and I was just much more exhausted going in to the hospital with Ethan. I got a tight 8 hours sleep the night before Katelynn’s birth! After feeling prolonged pressure, they checked me one last time and I was at a 10-ready to push!

PUSH IT
There is not much to say here-it lasted all of 12 minutes! They had my feet bent up in stirrups which was a MUCH more comfortable and natural way to push than lying flat like they had me at the first hospital. They just told me when it was time to push and I did-I had a better sense of what muscles to use, probably, and had done core exercises prior to getting pregnant. (Afterward a nurse said to not do those in first trimester and I never revisited them but continued my rehabilitative hip and knee exercises.) So I think all of those things played a role in how well the pushing went! Credit goes to the good hospital staff and supportive husband as well! With Ethan’s birth, I pushed somewhere between 45 minutes and an hour-still not bad, but I do think having done it before plus the better positioning and MUCH more energy reserves from a good night’s sleep and shorter labor helped.

The only thing the doctor who examined Katelynn had concerns about was her hip being loose and said its possible she will need a corrective harness for 6 months. He said this can happen quite often if the baby is lying in the womb at an odd angle.

A SURPRISE DIAGNOSIS BIRTH VS A TYPICAL BIRTH
Everything about Katelynn’s birth was fast and thankfully, easy for the most part! While I know there are so many different complicttions and frustrating labor stories that come with any child, the main difference in our surprise diagnosis birth story (Ethan’s) and Katelynn’s was after the babies arrived, of course. I will list them numerically then probably make it a separate post.

**CAUTION
A note of caution: I had no knowledge about Staydol, other than knowing other people who had it in the past. (But didn’t worry about it because my husband is an RN and I’m just not generally one to question doctors and nurses especially if it’s something really routine like labor pain management-I’m not saying they wouldn’t tell me, I just didn’t care about asking! HOWEVER-Something to consider ahead of time is if you are offered a pain medication before and epidural, maybe think through if it will affect how still you sit when the epidural needle is being inserted. I remember being concerned that I was going to wiggle too much because I still had those drugs in my system and I did feel a little wiggly and it was hard for me to concentrate. My inhibitions were in that in between stage of having to focus pretty hard to make sure I didn’t say something stupid to the anesthesiologist like “well hey, you’re a handsome one. Much younger than the last one though…I hope you’re experienced enough.” Since I did feel like it was hard to focus on verbal directions and stay still (although not THAT hard, mind you), the incident popped into my head when I was suffering pretty horrible postpartum headaches the first week after Katelynn’s birth. (I couldn’t even sleep for a while some parts of some nights-and I was SO exhausted.) I couldn’t help but wonder if maybe I was wiggly (I don’t think I really was-Ryan and the staff probably would’ve said something.) I do remember there being a few different times the needle had to be inserted and I’m 95% sure the painful headaches were only hormone related because the epidural headaches sound MUCH worse after consulting with a bunch of women including my mother. I say all this, however, to share the possibility of drugs and movement during epidural placement that might happen, I imagine (since they do tell you to stay still, after all.) I wondered if it was the same exact stage of labor I had been in at home and thought hmmm maybe I’m a 6 now? Finally I was checked again soon before the epidural-yep, I was at a 6! So even though I showed up at a 3, I didn’t actually get this epidural any sooner than with my first baby. Oh well, some people are lucky to make it to the hospital with baby #2, right?

Leave a Reply

